Rule 3.8 Venue of Actions Within the District

(a) <u>The Divisions of the Court</u>. The Northern District of Ohio is divided into two divisions.

The Eastern Division consists of the following counties, with three divisional offices, as follows:

Akron: Carroll, Holmes, Portage, Stark, Summit, Tuscarawas, and Wayne.

Cleveland: Ashland, Ashtabula, Crawford, Cuyahoga, Geauga, Lake, Lorain,

Medina, and Richland.

Youngstown: Columbiana, Mahoning, and Trumbull.

The Western Division consists of the following counties:

Toledo: Allen, Auglaize, Defiance, Erie, Fulton, Hancock, Hardin, Henry,

Huron, Lucas, Marion, Mercer, Ottawa, Paulding, Putnam, Sandusky, Seneca, Van Wert, Williams, Wood, and Wyandot.

- **(b)** Resident Defendant. Except as otherwise provided by law, all actions brought against a resident of a county within the Eastern Division shall be filed at any of the offices within the Eastern Division. All actions brought against a resident of a county in the Western Division shall be filed at the divisional office in Toledo, Ohio. For the purposes of this Rule, a defendant that is a corporation shall be deemed to reside in any county in the district in which it is subject to personal jurisdiction at the time the action is commenced, and if there is no such county, the corporation shall be deemed to reside in the county within which it has the most significant contacts.
- (c) <u>Multiple Defendants</u>. Except as otherwise provided by law, actions brought against persons who are residents of counties in more than one division or divisional office area shall be filed in the divisional office containing the county in which the claim arose. Except as otherwise provided by law, if the claim arose outside the district and no plaintiff resides in the district, the action may be filed in the divisional office containing any county in which any defendant resides.

Last revised 4/7/97. See Historical Notes for full revision history.