You are here

MDL 3092

Suboxone (Buprenorphine/Naloxone) Film Products Liability Litigation

 

Master Docket Number: 1:24-md-3092
Presiding Judge: J. Philip Calabrese 

MDL Clerk:

Corey McCardle
216-357-7074

Chambers Contact: Angela Yesiolowski
216-357-7265
Description: These actions share complex factual questions arising from the alleged propensity of Suboxone film, which is used for the treatment of opiate addiction, to cause dental erosion and decay.  Plaintiffs in all actions allege that defendants designed Suboxone film to be acidic, which they claim leads to dental erosion and decay when the film is dissolved in the mouth (Suboxone previously was available only as an ingestible tablet).  Plaintiffs allege that defendants knew, but failed to warn, that Suboxone film causes damage to teeth. The same factual questions regarding general causation, including the mechanism of the alleged injury, are present in all cases. Similarly common are questions surrounding the adequacy of the testing defendants conducted regarding Suboxone film and the sufficiency of warnings regarding dental problems.

Plaintiffs' Co-Lead Counsel:

Ashlie Case Sletvold
PEIFFER WOLF CARR KANE CONWAY & WISE, LLP
6370 SOM Center Road, Suite 108
Cleveland, Ohio 44139
(216) 589-9280
asletvold@peifferwolf.com

Erin K. Copeland
FIBICH, LEEBRON, COPELAND & BRIGGS
1150 Bissonnet Street
Houston, Texas 77005
(713) 424-4682 
ecopeland@fibichlaw.com

Timothy J. Becker  
JOHNSON // BECKER, PLLC
444 Cedar Street, Suite 1800
St. Paul, Minnesota 55101 
(612) 436-1800
tbecker@johnsonbecker.com

Trent B. Miracle
FLINT COOPER LLC
222 East Park Street, #500
Edwardsville, Illinois 62025
(618) 288-4777
tmiracle@flintcooper.com

Plaintiffs' Executive Committee:

Alyson Steele Beridon
HERZFELD, SUETHOLZ, GASTEL, LENISKI, AND WALL, PLLC
600 Vine Street, Suite 2720
Cincinnati, Ohio 45202
(513) 381-2224
alyson@hsglawgroup.com

C. Andrew Childers
CHILDERS, SCHLUETER & SMITH, LLC
1932 North Druid Hills Road, #100
Atlanta, Georgia 30319
(404) 419-9500
achilders@cssfirm.com

Lee Floyd
BREIT BINIAZAN
2100 East Cary Street, Suite 310
Richmond, Virginia 23223
(804) 351-9040
lee@bbtrial.com

Layne Hilton
MEYER WILSON
900 Camp Street, Suite 337
New Orleans, Louisiana 70130
(614) 255-2697
lhilton@meyerwilson.com

Russ Abney
WATTS LLP
4 Dominion Dr., Bldg. 3, Suite 100
San Antonio, Texas 78257
(210) 447-0500
russ@wattsllp.com

Plaintiffs' Liaison Counsel:

Alyson Steele Beridon
HERZFELD, SUETHOLZ, GASTEL, LENISKI, AND WALL, PLLC
600 Vine Street, Suite 2720
Cincinnati, Ohio 45202
(513) 381-2224
alyson@hsglawgroup.com

Counsel for Defendants:

Denise A. Dickerson
Sutter O'Connell - Cleveland
3600 Erieview Tower
1301 East Ninth Street
Cleveland, OH 44114
(216) 928-2200
ddickerson@sutter-law.co

Mary Renee Pawelek
Bowman Brooke LLP
2901 Via Fortuna Drive, Suite 500
Austin, TX 78746
(512) 874-3800
mary.pawelek@bowmanandbrooke.com

Matthew L. Streety
Bowman Brooke LLP
2901 Via Fortuna Drive, Suite 500
Austin, TX 78746
(512) 874-3800
matthew.streety@bowmanandbrooke.com

Randall L. Christian
Bowman Brooke LLP
2901 Via Fortuna Drive, Suite 500
Austin, TX 78746
(512) 874-3800
Randall.Christian@bowmanandbrooke.com

 

Orders Pertaining to MDL 3092

 

Doc #1 02/05/2024 Initial Transfer Order from Judicial Panel on Multidistrict Litigation
Doc #7 02/07/2024 Case Management Order No. 1 (Initial Status Conference)
Doc #35 03/08/2024 Case Management Order No. 2 (Plaintiff's Leadership)
Doc #52 03/27/2024 Amended Case Management Order No. 3 (Direct Filing)
Doc #81 05/16/2024 Case Management Order No. 4 ("Schedule A" Complaint)
Doc #84 05/21/2024 Case Management Order No. 5 (Designation and Handling of Protected Information)
Doc #85 05/21/2024 Case Management Order No. 6 (Evidence Rule 502(d) and Privileged Materials)